cut the fluff: day twenty-four

“Write 500 words without using the word “that” or “very”. Try to use absolutely no adverbs (hint: absolutely is an adverb). See how much stronger your writing is when you just get to the point? What not just do that all the time? Don’t worry. You can have your fluff back tomorrow, but see what you can learn from this exercise.”

I didn’t write yesterday. I’m upset about it, but also trying to give myself a break because it was a day and half yesterday.

I spent the entire day out of the house–literally 8:00 am until 1:30 am. I haven’t had a day out of the house on that level in ages. I met my coworker, Hillary, at Starbucks from 9 until 12, and then we rushed off to the birthday party we organized for our youngest girl at the house. She’d never celebrated her birthday or had someone throw her a birthday party, so it was really special for us all to be a part of her “1st Birthday”. All our staff came together to share in her first time experiences and it was an honor to be a part of. I forget what a great team we have until we all come together. We were all very carefree and energetic, running between the go carts and the small roller-coaster for a good hour. We had pizza and a cake and presents and our little one was pleased and joyful the whole day. I felt like a mom all day.

I didn’t realize until yesterday how much I have been changed by the team at Wings of Shelter. Our group is not big, maybe ten of us altogether. We have all come from different walks of life, but we love our girls and we feel the calling of God on our lives to fight for those who can’t fight for themselves. I am so honored to be present and a part of everything God has started through Sally and Lowell. To spend time with others, even girls my own age who feel the same things I do and are motivated to do something about them, has been an encouragement to me. The party was a gift that I wasn’t expecting; I realized there is a place that I fit even here in a place I haven’t wanted to be in for the past two years. It’s an interesting thing since I am looking to the future and the options I have out of state. Why is just now that I’ve found a place I feel at home in? It has made things complicated in a way I didn’t anticipate.

For now, I am thankful for my Wings family, from the staff, to our beautiful girls that I’m completely in love with and so proud of. It’s a wonderful thing to have such a place of love and purpose. I’m thankful for this season, for however long it is, as a chance to live, to love, and to grow together. Here’s to being all in, right now.

Myself, Judie, Erika & Hillary--all just as vibrant and joyful as they look.
Me with Judie, Erika & Hillary–all just as vibrant and joyful as they look.
Leave a Reply

