write about work: day twenty-seven

“Tell a story about your job or the worst boss in the world. Make up your dream vocation and write about it. Tells us how you spend your days stuck in a cubicle or raising five little rug rats. Whatever work looks for you, write about it.”

One of my favorite things about work is even though it’s administrative, I don’t have a cubicle. Thanks to Wings being so small, I do a lot of work from home/in Starbucks and thanks to us being based in Lee County, I spend a good amount of time driving. Thanks to the nature of our work, I get to spend a lot of time talking about trafficking and all the aspects that are involved in it, as well as talking about who we are and what we do.

If there are three things I like they’re 1) being around coffee, 2) driving on the highway and 3) talking about things that light my fire. For the first time in my life, my job actually encompasses all three of these elements so honestly I’ve been the happiest camper the past few months. I can’t believe I actually get paid to do something like this.

How I feel about myself after having written that paragraph.
How I feel about myself after having written that paragraph.

Every day looks a bit different for me. Usually I meet with my coworker/fearless leader/lovely friend, Hillary, on Monday morning to hash out the kinks in the schedule for the week and resolve any issues we have and make the appointments we need to make. It’s nice to switch it up from working from home, which is still glorious because some days you don’t feel like putting on real pants or eyeliner.

Wednesday mornings are our weekly Case Management meetings where we discuss house maintenance, education, medical, spiritual issues that we need to take care of for the girls. It really helps to have all of us come together (the little band that we are) and make sure we’re on the same page and hash things out. We usually pray together, even if it’s brief, at the beginning of the meeting which help orient our minds back to the foundation of everything. You really can’t do this sort of thing without taking it on emotionally; it’s easy to get a savior complex that roots way down deep in your psyche and tells you that you have to save everyone, and that you can save everyone.

I really appreciate our CEOs Sally and Lowell, because they’ve been doing this long enough to know how to manage and encourage us, and remind us to find ways and time to de-stress. They regularly remind us that we’re not Jesus, just trying to be His hands and feet as much as we can, which I think is super critical for us all to hear. I’ve started running recently (I say as I haven’t run yet this week, WHOOPS) but I’ve noticed it really helps to just do something physical and get my endorphins going–I definitely feel lighter and more relaxed.

Throughout the rest of the week I end up taking the girls to appointments when the house parents can’t juggle it all (apparently being in two places at once isn’t a thing), meeting with volunteers all over the place with Hillary and occasionally going to a seminar or something to that effect. I like how everything is a little different each week, with a few consistencies.

If this were a review, I’d give my current job a 9.5/10 stars; the 0.5 stars I subtract is for how many times a day everything on the calendar has to be changed, but hey, it’s good to learn to roll with the punches.

Also, this happened last week and I can’t tell if I’m proud or ashamed of myself.

Socality Barbie would be so proud of me.
Socality Barbie would be so proud of me.

Happy Saturday, and JUST A FEW DAYS LEFT OF THIS CHALLENGE.

One thought on “write about work: day twenty-seven

  1. You’ll never have to work a day in your life if you find something you love doing. Congrats on finding an organization you love spending time with and making a difference, that also provides an income….. Gold level. Nice.

Leave a Reply

