write your own eulogy: day twenty-eight

“A little morbid, but this is an important exercise. Without a life to write about, the words we craft become somewhat empty. How are you living a story worth telling? Imagine what someone might say at your funeral if you were to pass away unexpectedly. What would you WANT them to say? If that day were today, what would you regret? So take some time and write the ideal eulogy and then go live like that–make it true.”

Nothing like thinking about death on a Sunday morning.

The first thing I thought of when I thought of
The first thing I thought of when I thought of “morbid”.

What I Would Want People to Say at My Funeral

I would want people to remember me as a bringer of light. I want to be remembered as someone who brought life and energy and joy to whatever place I found myself; but I want to be remembered as being honest when days were difficult. I want people to be able to say that I was kind to others and looked for ways to reach out, even when people were emotionally prickly. I want to be known as consistent and dedicated to those in my life who mean most. I want people to remember me and think, “That girl knew how to love”.

I want to be remembered as someone who was honest. Being joyful and positive as much as possible, but counterbalanced by an ability to connect authentically with people from all walks of life, regardless of issues of orientations or race or religion. I want to be remembered as someone who loved Jesus and in turn knew how to love others. I want to be remembered as someone who was a home and a safe place for others; someone who could help others feel less lonely and less lost.

I want to be remembered as someone who wasn’t scared of life, but would still try new things even if she was. Hopefully my life will could be an encouragement to someone else who struggles with worry, fear, anxiety or perfectionism that you don’t have to let that stop you from drinking in all that life has to offer.

I want to be remembered as someone who didn’t try to be a ‘voice for the voiceless’, but a catalyst so those previously silenced can speak for themselves. I want to be remembered as someone who worked the background, while pushing the real heroes to the forefront. I never want anyone to remember me as someone who was afraid to get my hands dirty or do the hard work that needs to be done. I never want to be remembered as the one vying for the spotlight. I want to enable others to fulfill the roles that God has given them.

I want to be remembered as someone my parents could be proud of raising, and my sisters could feel proud to look up to. If I think I’ve ‘saved the world’, but my family doesn’t feel proud of me or like I love them deeply, even to the point of death, I’ve failed.

I want to be remembered as someone who followed Jesus, and listened to Him, regardless of outside pressures from the world and from the church. This is possibly the biggest desire I have; let me be real. I don’t want to be perfect, but I want to be real and to be close with Jesus. That’s the only way that all this other stuff will come together, anyway.

I want a lot of things to be remembered about me, but I’m not sure how close I am to being there. Some days I feel so far from all of this, but I’m thankful that (for now) I have time to grow and work on thing things I feel are currently out of reach. I’m a baby yet, and there’s (God willing) a lot of life left to live.

Leave a Reply

