write what you know: day twenty-nine

Currently laying in that stillness that comes from being the only one in the dark living room, wrapped in the faint light of the TV screen. David Bowie is peering at me from behind the word ‘Labyrinth’. The fan has a steady and low hum. I can hear the dogs stir on the floor every so often. Dad was out here earlier; I could hear him crack open a Mountain Dew (his favorite) from my nest on the couch. I can hear the rain, gentle and soft outside the window. 

I love couches–I think they’re the most lovely places in the world. I find so much comfort in a good stretching-out, couch rest. 

There’s been so much going on behind the scenes for me lately, which so many new things and things up in the air that it’s a wonderful change of pace to sit still and just wonder at it all. 

My dance showcase is this Friday, which is amazing to me because I swore up and down that I’d never do it. It also means it’s almost been a full year of lessons, so who knew that casual trip would amount to this journey I’ve been on. 

I’ve almost made it the full 31 days here, which is exciting and now I just need to get my game plan together for the future of my blog. 

I’ve reconnected with some people this past week; I’ve been so social I almost don’t even recognize myself. But it’s not bad–I’m excited about things again. Maybe I’m not as big of an ice queen as I thought. That’s all I can say for now, but it’s been very, very good. 

There are a lot of options for the future too. And really, if I’m being honest, none of them are bad. I know I feel like things have to be a certain way, and I have to do certain things, but I’m surprised by how much I’ve grown to like things here. It’s all sort of vague, but maybe we’ll expound on it later. 

I guess all I’m saying is that right now I’m enjoying this really excellent balance of excitement for the future (whatever it is) and a calm contentment for how things are now. I’m blessed and I’m in a season (eat your hearts out, I’m using Christian-ese non-ironically) of knowing that I’m blessed and being able to see it. It’s not forever, and there will be more dips to come on this road, but right now-things are looking pretty lovely. Everything is temporary, though, so I’m going to glean whatever I can while I’m here. 

So this is an “I’m thankful for right now” post. I know Jesus is behind it, as he always is. It’s just so much easier to see it right now–and I say those words because it’s usually so rare that I get to say them. Remind me of that next week or next month when that belief is challenged by circumstance because it will be. 

Thank you, Jesus. I’m deeply appreciative of the fan mail this week. 

Leave a Reply

